Looking Back On The “Best Day Ever”

Friends … Guess what?! I have officially been married to my very best friend for two whole weeks! My heart is still overflowing with joy as I look back on our wedding day with so much gratitude for the way everything came together and it truly was, as they say, the ‘best day ever!’

We arrived home from our honeymoon late last night (3 AM!), so the jet lag caused by the Alaska vs. Ontario time-zone has definitely caught up with me, but after several weeks away from the blog, I wanted to quickly hop on here and write a short and sweet reflection on the biggest blessing my heart has ever received. Our wedding day was such a gift, and while I definitely plan on sharing more details (including all the wedding planning things I wish I knew in advance that I know now!), my intent of today’s post is to be one of gratitude, because Mac and I undeniably have a lot to be thankful for.

Our families (and family friends!) showed up for us throughout our entire wedding weekend (but truly, way beyond that as well) in so many ways. I’ve never felt so supported and loved by both of our families as I do looking back on the kindness and generosity that was shown to us as we put together the biggest event of our life.

Our friends proved why were are some of the luckiest people in the world – many travelling from far and wide to celebrate with us and join in the fun on what was undeniably our very favourite day of all time.

meganmckinley2

Our wedding parties were absolutely incredible (and while my stringent need to STICK TO THE TIMELINE may have been a tad bit annoying at times, no one complained once, nor did anyone dare to call me a bridezilla, even though I was definitely a little bit intense  – which was a good thing since I consider that an incredibly misogynistic term lololol). Everyone was so helpful throughout the whole weekend, and so much fun during the party that night! The way they smiled brightly and were so cooperative throughout photos (which I know can often take way too long and feel like a bit of a drag) was amazing, and they were so good working with our photographers and videographers to document the day.  They delivered beautifully memorable speeches that we can’t wait to re-watch when we receive the video, performed music and readings during the ceremony, brought us food, coffee, and so much more! One of my bridesmaids even lent me her shoes when we had the last minute realization that my dress wasn’t hemmed to the right length for my flat sandals. We had a very large wedding party (nine people stood by each of our sides – eighteen total!) but looking back, we wouldn’t have it any other way. Each person who was a part of our day is uniquely special to us in an irreplaceable way, and we are so grateful for all of them for showing us what true friendship looks like.

The minister from my childhood church, Aaron was our officiant, and the ceremony was absolutely perfect. We received so many compliments on how special and personal the ceremony was, and I credit that entirely to him. He is a talented speaker, and means so much to my family, so having him as a part of our day was incredibly meaningful.

Each of our vendors were also phenomenal. The team at the church who made sure everything ran smoothly … The team at the Crowne Plaza who pulled off serious miracles making our day as lovely as it was … Our decorator … Our DJ … And especially our photographers and videographers. The list goes on and on of people who stepped up and displayed the utmost of talent and professionalism, ensuring the wedding of our dreams came true.

meganmckinley3

Despite a rainy weather forecast, we had sunshine all day, and though it may have been a bit breezy, I was so full of the ‘warm and fuzzies’ I didn’t notice the cold at all! I am so grateful that we’ve been blessed by one another in marriage, partnership, and love. I truly believe that finding each other was a ‘God thing’ in every way, because I know myself well enough to know that I am undeserving of such bliss. It is through a grace I have not earned that this ‘happily ever after’ has been given to me, and I am forever grateful, to eternity and back.

I am so freaking excited that I finally get to call Mac ‘my husband,’ and in the past two weeks I’ve slipped it into as many moments of conversation as I possibly can. He is so strong, and funny, and sweet, and sensitive, and smart, and just everything I could have ever dreamed of and more. I know that nothing is perfect in life, but right now, in this honeymoon phase it kinda feels like it is.

For that, I am endlessly grateful.

I’ll be back again soon!

XO – Love, Mrs. Heather Brown!!

2 thoughts on “Looking Back On The “Best Day Ever”

Leave a comment